Tokyo has eleven sister cities around the world

Many cities in the world have a sister cities  姉妹都市 – a kind of  partnership with another city in another country. Some cities like Tokyo have more than one “sister city”.

In fact, Tokyo, has eleven sister cities -  Beijing China, Berlin Germany, Cairo Egypt, Jakarta Indonesia, Moscow Russia, Sydney Australia, New York City USA, Paris France, Rome Italy, Sao Paulo Brazil  and Seoul Korea. Cities make “sister city” contracts with other cities in the world to help promote each other’s culture, industry and tourism.

Similar Posts:

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...
Share and Enjoy:
  • Print
  • Digg
  • Sphinn
  • Facebook
  • Mixx
  • Google Bookmarks
  • Blogplay
  • email
  • LinkedIn

4 Responses to “Tokyo has eleven sister cities around the world”

  1. The Cynical Traveller Says:

    Um, I lived in Tokyo for five year (and loved it) and I live in China now. Rather surprised to hear Beijing is a sister city of Tokyo. From what I’ve been able to gather, the Chinese aren’t that interested in promoting and spreading Japanese culture. They tend to think the Japanese have already tried that once…

  2. craig Says:

    Usually capital cities have several sister cities so its not uncommon

  3. Katsudon Says:

    Interesting,I had no ideas such a thing existed.

  4. ken Says:

    cute cosplay girls in that photo

Leave a Reply

XHTML: You can use these tags: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>